Resolved to Be Perfect

Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect. Matthew 5:48

“Mom! Why can’t everything just be perfect?” Catie ardently lamented.

My oldest daughter Catie is a typical firstborn – Type A to the max. She strongly dislikes mistakes, messes, irresponsibility, chaos, and the like. Me on the other hand, I’m not as intense about these matters as I once was (Wait, maybe I never was!). What type are you?

Either way, I believe all of us are striving, even yearning, for perfection of different kinds. We may not mind an untidy home but eventually we are disgusted by its continual filth and disorganization. Maybe we aren’t obsessed about physical fitness but we long to have a good physical appearance. I believe the most difficult imperfection to come to terms with is relational. Whether it’s an issue with people (ourselves included) or our Creator God, maybe it’s a lack of self-control and love with a heaping of greed and self-pride; it can be disastrous, right?

I’ll give three cheers for improvements, New Years’ Resolutions, growth, innovation and such –but perfection? What are we to do with this lofty standard?

My biblical conclusion is that there are two forms of perfection – false perfection and true perfection. Here’s my general comparison of the two:

FALSE PERFECTION

Worldly

External

Temporary

Proud

Human strength

TRUE PERFECTION

From God

Internal before external

Humble

Everlasting

Holy-Spirit empowered

False perfection fails every time! God calls us to true perfection (Matt. 5:48)! Yet as Christ followers, we often chase the wrong form of perfection. Sadly, too often my attention and energies become diverted to pursuing what is petty, void of God’s direction, self-serving, and superficial.

How about you? Do you struggle with trying to “have it all together” and pressure to keep up with the culture’s ever-changing standards? There’s no better time than the present to shift to God’s mind about the matter! Join me! Resolve to abandon the world’s lies of false perfection and pursue the Lord Jesus Christ!

There are many Scriptures to aid us in renewing our minds. Below are few that inspire me.

Where is True Perfection?

GOD HIMSELF – Deuteronomy 32:4

He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just. A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.

GOD’S WORD – Psalms 19:7

The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul. The statutes of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple.

CHRIST’S SERVANTS – Hebrews 10:13,14

Since that time he (Jesus) waits for his enemies to be made his footstool, because by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.

 

If you’re a Christian, then this means you and me! We have been made the righteousness of God in Christ!

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. 2 Corinthians 5:21

GOD’S PEACE – Isaiah 26:3

You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.

GOD’S LOVE – 1 John 4:18

There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

OUR KNOWLEDGE IS IMPERFECT… BUT ONE DAY EVEN OUR UNDERSTANDING WILL BE PERFECTED!

1 Corinthians 13:10-12

but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.  When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

9 thoughts on “Resolved to Be Perfect

  1. I read this twice, so rich! True perfection… Peace– even reading your description of “true perfection” spoke peace into my heart. Wow, there is nothing like the peace of God in your home and life. Even in the midst of rushing here and there with the demands of the momma’s day… there can be SUCH joy and peace.
    Thanks for the inspiring blog! Looking forward to your future posts!
    Resolved to pursue Christ.
    -a happy mom of 3 in Louisiana

  2. Oh Amy! This is so timely for me! Thank you for your obedience to write it. I need to be reminded over and over and over that my perfection is in Christ and He is in me!!! Love you sweet sister!!!

  3. Thanks for the great reminder! I am so NOT Type A and need to quit wishing that I were! I want to strive for the “TRUE” perfection!

  4. Thanks for these words of wisdom Amy! I loved your blog. I struggle with being too hard on myself (and others). I really like how you define “TRUE” perfection vs. False perfection and LOVE all the scriptures! You have a gift…. Keep it coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

