Words to Live By for 2013

treePhilippians 3:13,14 …I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

It’s February! Where did January go? Time flies, right? I was so focused in January – everything was new and my outlook was so positively Pollyanna! Oh well, here we are in the now of today… And “now” is good; after all it’s all we have!

My husband, Craig, aka my Mega Man, recently shared in a sermon his challenge to our family to each prayerfully choose one word for 2013 that would encapsulate a desire or goal God would have us live out.

The word I was drawn to and chose was “delight.”

Psalm 1 verse 2 is the scripture that inspires me in my pursuit to delight myself in God.  It states, “But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.”

Delighting myself in God has actually been a theme of my heart for the past 5 or so years. Yet, I knew I that my passionate pursuit in this had gradually been fading over the past year. This is unacceptable to me! God is jealous for my whole heart and yours! He is the Great Treasure and worthy of my total delight! Delight means “to take great pleasure in.” And that’s what I aim to continue doing with all my heart, soul and strength.

So in January 2013, it was clear to me that some adjusting was in order. I’m choosing to draw my mind and heart toward knowing and loving God Himself. Pursuing Him more is always more than worth it!

How about you? Is God leading you to choose a word of focus? It could be you’ve already received God’s direction. Either way, I pray that you will stay the course God leads you to throughout the year. Don’t grow weary! Lean in to all God’s called you to live out!

Three “One Words!”

Okay, so I went a bit further and chose two more “one words.” Don’t start calculating in that mathematical mind of yours! I know what you’re likely thinking! How can I have three “one words?” Calm yourself and I’ll tell you.

“Delight” is the one word I’ll press into with my relationship with my Heavenly Father.

“Respect” is the one word God has placed on my heart to thrive in my relationship with Craig.

“Nurture” is what I believe to be my focus word to cultivate life-giving connections with my children.

I’ll expound on “respect” and “nurture” in my next two, soon-coming posts.

6 thoughts on “Words to Live By for 2013

  1. Thank you Amy, for this important reminder. The world and its troubles are so distracting, its too easy to lose focus and delight is a sadly forgotten concept these days; heck, even the word has fallen out of common use. Your post has blessed my day and encouraged me!

  2. I love this challenge Amy! When I first heard about it a couple weeks ago I decided my word for the year would be discipline (with my key verse being Hebrews 12:11) “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” I feel there are so many little areas in my life that lack follow through or true commitment. I want to create disciplines in my life that will produce “righteousness and peace” as well as adhere to God’s leading when sometimes it’s so easy to ignore or not acknowledge the things he asks of me! It’s been so encouraging to focus on ONE thing and see the results in more than one area of my life. I can’t wait to read more posts! 🙂

  3. My word for 2013 is “Surrender”. It is defined as to yield (something) to the possession or power of another;
    to give (oneself) up to some influence, course, emotion.

    My verse is Mary’s reply to the angel that visits her to tell her, she will be the mother of the Messiah.

    “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May it be to me as you have said.” (Luke 1:38 NIV84)

    2012 was a difficult year, but even along my journey thru the valley, God showed me His faithfulness. The challenges and struggles finally allowed me to see His ways are best (even when I don’t understand) and when I surrender my ENTIRE life to Him, he fills my heart with peace and contentment. I love what Proverbs 19:23 says, “The fear of the Lord leads to life: Then one rests content, untouched by trouble.”.

  4. In one of Joyce Meyers sermons she gives a definition of the word delight to also mean” to be plyable and moldable in His hands”. She was discussing Ps 37:4. I thought you might like to add that to your meditation on the word delight.

    For me the word I would choose would be “rest”. We are so much on the go nowadays, we need to learn how to rest.

    Your blog is very nice and you write well!! Thank you for taking the time to do this!

  5. Oh relief! I can have more than one word! The word I chose was Joy. But I also feel Prayer should be added along with Obedience. More intentional, focused prayer to lead me to places of obedience in a way that I recognize is only by His strength and not my own effort which will lead to ultimate joy in Him! Thank you for choosing 3 words 😉

Leave a Reply

