How to Lighten Your Load

How to Lighten Your Load

I am a weakling! Physically speaking, that is. Weightlifting just isn’t my “thing.” I can’t lift heavy loads (like a huge bag of dog food) without massive support from my legs and my whole body to offset the weight in my arms. What a sad but funny sight I must be for onlookers as I desperately hoist a bag into my shopping cart! Then I wonder, “How am I going to get this into the trunk of my car?!” Now this might make you snicker, but for me it’s no laughing matter. I need some help!

Heavy burdens are like this. They really aren’t meant to be carried alone.

Just last week, I was carrying some heavy loads on my heart and mind.

I was weighed down with grief for the loss of a friend’s father who had passed away. Craig and I barely slept one night over the burden of unintentionally hurting some dear friends. Another weight was my concern for Craig’s busy schedule and important decisions that only he could make. And then there were two friends who texted me, one for prayer for her messed-up marriage and the other who announced the divorce was final.

Then to top all it all off, I had a good dose of concern for one of my children.

LOOK TO JESUS

My mood was low. My prayers were frequent. I felt alone and desperate for relief. “Jesus! Life can be so hard! Where are you? Please help!”

Seeking God was the key to my peace. The problem was this: I was doing all of the talking and none of the listening.

In Matthew 11:28, Jesus lovingly declares, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

The phrase “give you rest” is defined in Greek more clearly as “to give intermission from labor; to refresh.”

When weariness and heaviness begin in us, we are to look to Jesus (draw near to Him in our thoughts) and pause. Stop blabbing, groaning or whatever it is we are doing and listen…rest…allow the Spirit of Christ to teach us – “learn from me,” Jesus said.

When I finally took that pause, I settled into His rest, and the heaviness lightened.

TELL A FRIEND

Later in the week, my mind was more clear and I knew I should send eight or so of my close friends a group text and ask for their prayers in some specific matters. These dear friends started praying! I knew it because my burdens became even lighter. You see, although nothing had changed circumstantially, the weight of these burdens were being distributed. It’s as if God and His kids were actually physically helping hold the load.

Galatians 6:2 tells us to carry each other’s burdens.  We need to let other Christian friends know when we need help and prayer.

At the end of the week I received the following email from a lady who knew nothing about my recent struggles:

“Hey ma’am. You have been on my heart/mind all week… I want to encourage and remind you that God is with you and His strength is working in and through you…”

My God is the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort!

God knew my need! Before I ever voiced my grievances, God was there with me. He had shown a fellow sister to pray before I ever reached out to anyone.

Christ-follower, God is with you. He knows. He cares. Go to Him now… and pause to listen.

He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. Psalm 147:3

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:18

6 thoughts on “How to Lighten Your Load

  1. Thanks Amy. Appreciate you sharing and reminding us of the importance of lightening our load! So easy to forget and carry the heavy load and be weighed down by the problems in life. Praise God we have Him to carry and he gives us tools to off load our burdens. luv ya

  2. Great thoughts. I’ve also found that so many of today’s crises are forgotten by next week, so maybe they aren’t really the big deal I feel like they are today. Too bad I’m usually focused on the next batch of problems instead of God’s provision. Thanks for the reminder to fix my eyes on Him.

Leave a Reply

