Prayer Attitudes – Part 4

Joyful Surrender

Mandy bw

“Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.”

Jesus – Luke 9:23

A certain rich ruler had the honor of a face-to-face encounter with Jesus Christ (this story is found in Luke 18).  A wealthy leader, he already had a good measure of blessings from God. But this man knew that he lacked what was needed for true righteousness and eternal life. So he asked Jesus,

What must I do to inherit eternal life?”

This ruler claimed to have kept all of God’s commands since childhood, but to reveal his true devotion, Jesus declared,

“You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

The man became very sad because he had great wealth. He wanted eternal life but not at the expense of a fully surrendered life. He was deceived into caring more for the temporal than the eternal.

We must all first come to Christ making a great exchange: All of His life for all of ours. But it doesn’t end there! That’s just the beginning! As we remain in Him, we are to continue in a life of joyful abandonment.

This is easier said than done, right?

When you’re God’s child, you long to follow your Father and bring Him glory in all you do. This requires going into prayer with an empty self agenda and a heart surrendered to His will.

Recently, the Holy Spirit has been leading me to begin a new ministry endeavor. I will be frank. It thrills me and terrifies me. God is gently asking me, “Amy, if I lead you, are you willing to follow no matter what the cost?”

I know that His call to me entails great sacrifice, discomfort, and many unknowns. But in faith and with joyful surrender, I am willing to take up my cross and follow Him.

I bet you might want to know what this scary, faith-step is for me! Well… I’ll tell ya in a later post, okay?

There is no other way to live life to the full than to continue to joyfully surrender my life to Him.

What about you, dear friend?

Do you come before God in prayer as a fully yielded soul?

What are you holding tightly to? A habit, a sinful pleasure, or a comfortable routine?

Will you ask God to show you any way that you might be deceived?

Are you willing to lift your hands to the heavens and give Christ Jesus your all?

I pray you will know the joy of a life of surrender to Him.

 

2 thoughts on “Prayer Attitudes – Part 4

Leave a Reply

