Are you trusting God’s trustworthiness?

God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is FAITHFUL.

1 Corinthians 1:9

God IS faithful. That means He is fully trustworthy.

Do you believe this?

A better question may be:

Are you trusting God’s trustworthiness?

For quite some time, I’ve had a dream to minister to women on the edges. Women who need safe, supportive relationships to help them to get back on their feet and live out of true freedom in Christ. This dream led me to a vision to launch transitional discipleship homes for women.

So, for months I’ve been making calls and appointments to learn and seek advice from others, house hunting, sharing the vision, praying, and trusting in God’s faithfulness (at least, trying to!).

This process has not been difficult in terms of taking action steps.

That’s the simple part.

The challenging part that has stretched me the most is trusting God to do the rest – to bring about the right home(s), people, funding, and all the many details that come with His vision.

To be honest, at times it’s been a tough test of my faith.

I’ve often felt as though I’m just spinning my wheels with little or no traction.

Each time I share the vision, I feel a bit like a lunatic dreamer who should stop blabbing to keep from embarrassing myself when things don’t go as planned.

At times, self-doubt about whether or not I should even be trying to take this on arises to battle my conviction. I have quite a lot on my daily plate already. Do I really need to be doing this – now?

Here’s what I know to be true:

Challenging circumstances always test our faith in His faithfulness!

Are you stepping into the unknown with a dream from God? Or maybe there’s just something you know God wants you to do and you’re hesitating. No matter how big or small your next step of obedience is, keep keeping on, dear friend in Christ! Don’t give way to fear! Our God is faithful to carry out His work in and through you!

Waiting on God renewed me!

After looking at yet another “not the right” home, my husband, Craig, said, “Amy, it feels like you are forcing this.” Gulp… Lord, that is exactly what you told me not to do. “Alright, I said. I’m going to wait – wait on God’s leading.”

About a week later, I had two separate conversations about two homes with abundant potential dropped in my lap! Both homes are perfect in every God-ordained way and will start up six months apart!

One of the homes had been fully renovated and furnished by a LifeChurch.tv member who felt God prompt her to prepare the home (for the past eight months) to be used for women in need. What?! God you are amazing! Needless to say, there were many tears at that house showing!

Here’s the very short version of what has transpired in the past ten days:

God has revealed four women in immediate need of this type of housing, two women to serve in vital ministry roles, and provided 20% of our annual budget!

Now. I hope that this somehow encourages and builds your faith in our faithful God!

God’s ways are sure and best! We should wait on God and trust Him completely!

And the trusting and waiting hasn’t ended for us (and in Christ, it never will). In fact, it’s just the very beginning. There is a great deal more of preparation, implementation and learning ahead! My head has been spinning with ideas and next steps for our team and volunteers to take.

But I pause to give God praise and thanks for His amazing faithfulness.

I’m so thankful that God showed me I was trying to force things to happen.

I’m so thankful that God doesn’t give up on us when we show weakness and doubt.

I’m so thankful for the Body of Christ that God causes to work so beautifully together.

I’m so very humbled and grateful that God chooses to reveal His faithfulness to me – to us – when we wait on Him.

 

Are you trusting in God’s trustworthiness?

What’s your next step – To wait? Or to act?

5 thoughts on “Are you trusting God’s trustworthiness?

  1. This is long but I felt it was perfect for you! This is Craig Groeschel’s wife’s blog. I get her posts and this one is about how she is starting a transitional home for hurting women.

    Amy

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sweet Kristianne!

    Oh, how AMAZING God is! Thank you so much for sharing with me about the 40+ bags! There was never any doubt in my mind! I got this email this morning, and took a few minutes out at lunch to read it. That was before I got your message 🙂 but as I read Amy Groeschel’s story…I thought of you and Compassion That Compels! To God be the Glory! God IS so very FAITHFUL!

    Heard Elizabeth Smart speak tonight at our Healthy Woman event…what a testimony!

    Love you! Tonya

    >

Leave a Reply

