Oh Lord, It’s Hard to be Humble

“Oh Lord, it’s hard to be humble when you’re perfect in every way. I can’t wait to look in the mirror, ‘cuz I get better lookin’ each day. To know me is to love me…” These are the outrageous lyrics from a 1970s Davis Mac song. As laughable as they may seem, it might not be too difficult for you to think of someone who could write similar lines!

Narcissism – extreme self-love and selfishness – seems to have risen to epidemic proportions. Sure. It’s nothing new. Rather, it’s the oldest sin in the book. Undoubtedly, the first sin of Lucifer was laden with narcissistic pride.

A sign of the times? Probably. 2 Timothy 3:1,2 declares, “But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud…”

But is the issue of narcissism only a potential vice for the unbeliever? Is it possible for this ultra-vanity to infiltrate the Christian heart?

I’m convinced that anyone can fall prey to the trap of excessive self-love.

It seems like now more than ever it’s socially acceptable to be self-glorifying. “Hey guys, look at me! Look what I did. Look what I wear. Look where I go and who I know.” Hey, don’t get me wrong. I do this too!

And of course, this is a heart issue. The trouble is I’m tempted to look around and mentally point my finger at those who appear narcissistic while neglecting to examine and deal with me! Ugh! This plank in my eye is difficult to remove! But if I humble myself before God and confess my sin, He is faithful to gently remove and wash away this impurity.

As Christ-followers, we know that we are called to be humble, to be set-apart (holy), and not conform to the world’s ideals. Our Christian example matters greatly as we are God’s ambassadors shining His love and truth into the darkness.

But it can be very challenging to live this out WHEN…

We focus on ourselves.

Galatians 6:3: If anyone thinks he is something when he is nothing, he deceives himself.

We stop serving others.

Philippians 2:3: Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.

We take our focus off of glorifying Christ.

Colossians 3:3-4: For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.

2 Corinthians 5:15: And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

The HUMBLING truth is… GOD WILDLY LOVES YOU and ME… SELAH (think about it). Our God alone is WORTHY of ALL true glory, honor and praise!

Pray this prayer with me: Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23,24

2 thoughts on “Oh Lord, It’s Hard to be Humble

Leave a Reply

