HAPPY TRIALS TO YOU!

Do you have a deep, confident expectation about your tomorrows? You should. God wants us to!

I want us to examine our hope in the midst of trials and suffering.

God’s Word tells us to “Rejoice in our sufferings” and “Consider it pure joy” when in the middle of various trials. Does this sound a little crazy to you? It sure does to me! It is unusual, but it is God’s prescribed way for spiritual maturity. Notice I said maturity and not easy answers and specific outcomes.

I would not be the Christ-follower I am today if it were not for my painful trials. Every battle with my sin, fear, sickness, rejection, loss, and daily frustration has allowed me to become more like Christ Jesus.

When our faith is in the fire of life’s trials and we press on, placing our trust in God, it purifies us, making us more like Him. Trials can cause our hope to soar because we see the truth of His faithfulness at work in and around us.

Romans 12:12 says, “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”

Are you facing your struggles with patience, joy and prayer? You can. You can confidently expect God to work out good in all things for you, His beloved child (Romans 8:28).

If you are not walking in peace and joy right now, you need to reset your thinking. You need to renew your attitude with the truth of who God is!

I remember a time a few years back when I was terribly disappointed. No. I was fed-up. Done. I’d had enough. I had been waiting for God to answer my prayer to heal my reoccurring bladder infections. When I say “waiting,” I mean I have been waiting for the past 11 years. Well, one particular day there was no “rejoicing in all circumstances” going on in my heart. I wanted an end to my problem right then!

I had done everything the Bible said to receive healing, as well as prayerfully gone to doctors, taken their meds, used heaps of natural remedies, listened to and applied helpful advice, all to no avail. Ugh… sigh… whine… boo-hoo-hoo…

But God! He is so patient and generous with me. And today I am giddy with renewed hope! Why? Did I receive my healing? Maybe? I don’t know. I’m not sure about my tomorrows. But I know that God will be with me in them. My healing may come right now. If so, praise God! If not now, I expect all things are working out for my good and for His glory. His grace has always been sufficient for me.

My joy left that day because I became impatient and ungrateful. Not any more. I am waiting full of expectation. My God is everything I need!

Wait loved one. Wait patiently on Him. Choose to walk in His goodness and strength. You can live full of joy because you know, depend and place all hope in your faithful God.

For Futher Study:

Read James 1:2-5, Romans 5:1-11, and 1 Peter 1:3-7 and complete the statement, “I can rejoice because I have…”

Make out a list of what you’ve been given in Christ.

 

One thought on “HAPPY TRIALS TO YOU!

  1. Thanks Amy

    Love how you right with such honesty you are always an encourager.Thankful that God puts people on our journey to speak great truth into our lives.Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

