Mommy Lessons

What I Have Been Learning Along The Way…

NOT TO JUDGE OTHER MOMS’ METHODS (If I don’t like it, I just won’t adopt it. 🙂 ) 

If you’re like me, you’ve taken your role as a mother pretty seriously and have strived to choose the very best methods in all things maternal. I want my kids to have the most enriching environments possible. So I’ve sought the Holy Spirit’s guidance and done the best I can to provide this.

Now, I know you would never look around and compare like I have, but I have noticed that some moms seem to have kids that are better behaved than mine. Some of their four-year olds seem smarter than me. Some seem to be always well groomed with a matching outfit. While my goal is to make sure all my kids have shoes on when they jump in the car.

And then there’s those moms who can make me feel quite superior. “I would never feed my child such a meal.” “I would never allow my child to watch that show.” “I would never allow my child to behave in such a way.”

Oh… my, my, my. Do you see the problem?

First of all, it’s important to understand the difference between a principle and a method. A principle is a moral or fundamental standard. Methods are our systems or practices.

Proper nurturing, nutrition, education, and discipline are vital principles. Please do not neglect your child’s basic needs of love, food, clothing, shelter, correction, training, and teaching. And it’s great to search for the best methods to assist your child’s various needs. However, moms must beware of thinking of her methods as superior, more spiritual, or inferior than that of another mom. This only leads to self-righteousness, envy, strife and the like.

Stop comparing and just do your thing, mom! But watch yourself carefully. Don’t become overly zealous for your particular method(s) so that you offend or discourage your friend. Allow the love and grace of Jesus Christ to mature you as you avoid such foolishness.

Remain humble and unified with your sisters’ in Christ regarding your differing methods of parenting.

There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in all men. 1 Corinthians 12:4-6

To be continued… Next post: “Make Improvements by Tweaks”

 

5 thoughts on “Mommy Lessons

  1. Ouch! I used to know EVERYTHING about parenting….until I became a mom. Then my baby didn’t sleep, my toddler threw a fit at the store and my adolescent snipped her little comments at me…..w/ a roll of the eyes…..Oh, Lord….PLEASE show us how you want us to parent these kids….we are hopeless w/o you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

