Mommy Lessons #2

Mom, do you ever feel like you are in a parenting rut?

I sure can find myself here too often!

This mommy-rut can nag at your soul. It can keep you awake at night… because you know change is needed. Something is not working. Maybe it’s the eternally messy house, fighting siblings, disobedience, or the couch-potato-itis that has yet to be conquered. I believe that the nagging in our souls comes from our realities not lining up with our value systems. Values like obedience, respect, love, and diligence are foundational virtues we all long to instill in our kids.

So, like me, you’ve likely tried a multitude of parenting tactics to bring success in certain trouble areas. Maybe you’re in a season where any hope of change seems, well, unlikely.

I want to encourage you. Don’t throw in the towel. Don’t be an all-or-nothing parent. Don’t give up. Positive change is very possible!

Mommy Lesson #2

CONTINUAL TWEAKING IS A MUST

I’ve learned that tweaking my parenting methods is vital! Although I’ll never “arrive” as the perfect parent or with a perfect child, I strive for gradual improvements. I call them “tweaks.” These adjustments may be needed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually – you get the idea.

For me, tweaking begins by asking the Holy Spirit for guidance and then quizzing myself with constructive questions.

Questions to periodically ask yourself:

  • Am I about my Heavenly Father’s family business or my own?
  • How can I better connect with my child?
  • What can I change to better align with our values or goals?
  • What about our routine is not working well?
  • Do I need to learn more and be stretched as a mom? If so, what will be the source for this growth?

Let me just pause here for a little rabbit chase. Why is it that we rarely partake in training for parenting beyond the infant or early childhood years of a child? We will read all we can about pregnancy and baby’s first year, but as they grow older the studying often comes to a stop.

I urge you, mom, keep learning and growing! Get your PHD (figuratively speaking) in family matters, because family matters!

My recent tweaking just started last week after meeting with my mentor over lunch and discussing the prominent issue of entitlement.

After processing our discussion, I decided that my kids were not doing enough work around the house. They needed more chores. So I assigned new jobs with the days and times for them to be completed. Besides a little initial whining, this was an easy fix.

I also saw that they needed additional boundaries with their electronic devices. They now have set times of the day to place all devices into a basket that will be in their dad and mom’s possession. Can you believe we would actually remove these beloved items from their precious hands?! (Insert eye-roll here). No, this is not abuse. This is a healthy boundary for them in hopes that they will value people over “Apps.”

Now, honestly, if I don’t consistently hold them to the new standards there will come a day when these “tweaks” break down. Now is when you don’t want to give up. Give yourself grace! Shake it off! This is the beauty of tweaking. If you mess it up on your end, own it, tweak it, and start again! 

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:28

Happy Tweaking!

To be continued: Mommy Lesson #3: Yelling Doesn’t Help

2 thoughts on “Mommy Lessons #2

  1. This is a GREAT post, Amy!. I almost lost my son’s heart bec/ I didn’t change or tweak my parenting EVER….by the time he was an adolescent, our relationship was frayed and weak. I am so grateful the Lord opened my eyes to the changes I needed to make. The healing began and we grew very close over time. Thank you, Lord!!!

Leave a Reply

