TAKE A SEAT

My word for 2015 is “listen.”

“Walk closely with Me”… “Be a servant”… “Bring glory to Me in all you think, say, and do.”

These are the words my loving Father is whispering to me.

Now, I readily receive these messages, and with all my heart I want to follow Him, BUT they are not easy for me to put into continual practice!

The only way I could ever live characterized as a God-glorifying servant of Christ Jesus is to truly learn and live out His whisper, “Walk closely with Me.”

Recently, as my children and I shared our Bible reading insights one morning, this simple statement overtook my heart:

“Then King David went in and sat before the Lord…”

2 Samuel 7:18

rocking-chair-4-250x250

 

Do you sit still very well? When I say “still” I mean excluding driving, eating, reading, talking, and electronic devices? Like where you just sit with nothing visible or tangible to do? It’s odd to think about, isn’t it?

This is exactly what David did! He sought out the invisible, intangible Living God!

David went and sat before the Lord just after receiving some absolutely amazing news from the prophet Nathan – that God would bless David’s throne forever.

You see, David knew God intimately. He would have never gone and sat before Him and said the things he said if he hadn’t.

As David sat, he began praising God for His goodness and greatness. Surely, he was overwhelmed by the personal love and grace of His God! His deepest longing in those moments weren’t to reflect on his newfound importance and powerful position, but to glorify God as the Great One and the only true God.

When is the last time you simply sat before God – waiting on His whisper and resting in His love?

I want to follow David’s example, don’t you?

I want to sit still before God. I want to regularly take a pause from the strong current in my day and sit. Sit before my Father – to worship Him and listen to Him.

Let’s learn to walk with Him in such a way that our daily lives have become a natural overflow of a God-glorifying servant of Christ.

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

3 thoughts on “TAKE A SEAT

  1. Amy, today is January 29, my first time to read your blog. Your words touched my heart especially when I saw that your 2015 word is “listen”. That is the word the Lord gave to me! I am living with such confidence and expectation from Psalm 32:8: “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go. I will counsel you with My eye upon you.” As I sit alone with my Bible and focus on my Lord, I “listen” for instruction, teaching and counsel. He gives it so clearly and I am then able to pour out to others what He pours into me. Also, 2 Cor. 13:14 has become a favorite: “May the grace of Jesus, the love of our Father and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all.” Paul’s last words to the Corinthian church. Be blessed today Amy, you are doing a wonderful work listening to Jesus and serving us. Carol

Leave a Reply

