What Are You Chasing? …And Why?

When I was growing up, the biggest pursuit for me boiled down to love and acceptance wherever I could find it. Friends and boys were the top priority in my quest for acceptance.

Instead of realizing and being satisfied that I already had my family’s love and better yet, God’s love, I believed Satan’s lie that this wasn’t enough. “Your family and God are required to love you. Your real value must come from others.”

BIG. FAT. LIE.

But I believed it. My actions proved that I did.

I am convinced that many women (young and old) are still trapped by similar lies today.

You are not enough. You need to be more. Do more. You are not desirable. You are not valuable.

Why do I think this? Because I’m a woman! I can still struggle with believing these lies. If I examine my motives, they sometimes reveal that I am trying to obtain my approval from people. Essentially I am living from the lie that says, “What I already have in Christ is not enough.”

When does this happen? It happens when my eyes are off of Jesus Christ and His glory. It happens when I compare. It happens when I stop pursuing God and chase after the meaningless things of this world.

Be honest – what or who do you pursue? And why?

We pursue what we believe we need.

When we don’t throw out these demonic, worldly, filthy lies from our thinking and living, they begin to CHOKE the Truth (the Word of God) that needs to grow big and strong in our hearts.

This is what happens to me, to us, to our families, and to the Church! Everything God wants to teach and reveal to us falls on deaf ears and dim eyes. These lies CHOKE OUT the germinating seeds of Truth. Fruitlessness is the result.

When we chase after people’s approval we have a LOVE DISABILITY. We don’t truly see the LOVE we HAVE in Christ.

Thankfully, God doesn’t leave us in this state of bondage! Our loving Father draws us in, convicts our hearts and opens our eyes to His Truth.

His Truth says, “My love is far beyond anything you could ever imagine. It is real, pure, limitless, unchanging, deeply and fully cup-runneth-over satisfying to your longing soul.”

We must awaken to HIS REVOLUTIONARY LOVE!

NO MORE believing the lies. NO MORE counterfeit, worldly, self-driven living that only leads to barrenness.

Prayer: Forgive us, wonderful Father! We throw all these lies in the TRASH and pursue you with ALL our hearts. Overwhelm us with Your indescribable love. You alone fully and forever satisfy our being!

 

3 thoughts on “What Are You Chasing? …And Why?

  1. Wow I love this…..we forget how fulfilling Gods love is…..we should always seek not only His love but His approval. Like children do with their parents, God is our parent and I think the 2 go hand in hand as His child. Love and approval that is what we human seek. Thank Cindy for sending this my way I enjoyed!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

