Do Something Purely Beautiful

I just love children. I love my own six children so much I could pop. But I also love all children. I love their uninhibited, cute little selfs that can ask or share any thought that enters their amazing, developing minds. Tragically though, we know that not all children receive the most essential of human needs: the love and security of a stable family. 

November is National Adoption Month in the United States. (Yes, I know it’s still October but I want you preparing your hearts!) It’s truly wonderful that our nation supports and raises awareness to help literally millions of children (153,000,000 worldwide) who are without the love and care of a family. IMG_1058

It wasn’t too many years ago that I believed that only those God calls to become adoptive or foster parents need be concerned and actively engaged in the welfare of the “orphan.” Thankfully God did not leave me in my ignorance! He lovingly guided my heart to lean in and understand the Scripture, James 1:27 that states, “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”

It is interesting that this passage is preceded by the warning, “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says” (James 1:22). 

Whether or not you are being drawn to foster or adopt, I believe, like me, you would like to know how you can help. Right?!

 Here are some great resources for you!

Christian Alliance for Orphans: http://www.cafo.org 

World Orphans: http://www.worldorphans.org

American World Adoption: http://www.awaa.org

and also

http://www.lifesongfororphans.org (who partners with families and churches to fund adoptions).

I am praying that God will stir you up with His HUGE heart for these precious children!

Always and forever yours in Christ Jesus, 

Amy

2 thoughts on “Do Something Purely Beautiful

  1. Hi Amy. I don’t know if you still check this but I just wanted to ask you abt homeschool curriculum. I am based in Canada and just starting out with this. 4 kids but only two in school. Grade 1 and 4. One loves learning through craft and another through animals. Don’t even know where to start with curriculum. I am asking local mommas too but wanted to ask you. I am definitely an unexpected homeschooler! Funny how God brings you to things you never dreamt.

    • Hi Kirsten! I am very sorry for my slow response. I do hope that your homeschooling is going well. It has been a huge joy of my life to educate my children. The curriculum we have used has come through Sonlight. We have enjoyed most of the literature and the flexibility it gives. Blessings on your journey!
      Love, Amy

Leave a Reply

